Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors, and the work that we do. You can also read the minutes from our meetings.

Our aim is to ensure that Alexander McLeod Primary School is providing the best education it can for our children. Our main role is to support the Headteacher and the staff – the phrase often used to describe this role is ‘a critical friend’. We help them to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life. The two key documents used for this are the School Development Plan (SDP) and the Self Evaluation Form (SEF). The SDP sets out a strategic plan for the school, with targets that everyone works towards and the SEF sets out how well the school is doing and where we aim to make improvements.

Our legal duties include:

  1. setting strategic direction, policies and objectives
  2. approving the school budget
  3. reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives
  4. appointing, challenging and supporting the headteacher

The full Governing Body meets on a termly basis. We set up committees or working groups to look at particular issues (such as pay, performance management, buildings development).

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school. These are Co-opted, Local Authority, Parent, and Staff governors. All governors have equal status, however they are appointed.

We are committed to providing an excellent education and an environment fit for all pupils to enhance their learning experience during their time at our school.

Please click on the link below for further information regarding the structure of the Governing body and planned meetings for this academic year.

Register of Interest 2021-2022 

Governing Body Strategic Plan 2021-2022

Please click on the image for a brief introduction to our Governors

Meet Our Governors

  • Vaughan Williams
    Chair of Governors
  • Daniel Price
    Co-Opted Governor
  • Sue Robinson
    Co-Opted Governor
  • Althea Benjamin
    Co-Opted Governor
  • Zena Ali
    Co-Opted Governor
  • Gani Okesanjo
    Co-Opted Governor
  • Emma-Jayne Taylor
    Parent Governor
  • Natasha Sampson
    Parent Governor
  • Samantha Farrell
    Staff Governor